Insurance claims adjusting

Phone: (866) 833-4036
Fax: (865) 609-7001
Email: info@aanadjusters.com
Blog

AAN Adjusters

Florida Adjuster Licensing

Florida Adjuster Licensing

Florida Adjuster Licensing
 
Florida is historically one of the busiest states for catastrophic claims adjusting.
 
This is because of its high number of hurricanes and storms. Residents interested in working as a staff or independent claims adjuster must have a Florida adjuster license. What about nonresidents of Florida considering a career in catastrophic claims? They should consider obtaining a non-resident license in the “hurricane state.” Particularly residents of states not requiring an adjuster license. Complete the following steps to get and maintain your Florida insurance adjuster license:
Step 1 – Satisfy the Requirements
Resident Adjusters
 
  • They need to be at least 18 years of age.
 
  • Be a resident of the state of Florida.
 
  • They need to be a U.S. citizen or legal alien. These need to have work authorization for the Immigration and Naturalization Services.
 
  • Complete one of the following (or meet one of the exemption requirements):
 
  • Take a state-approved adjuster designation course.  Students need to complete a pre-licensing course and pass the included exam. Then they are exempt from taking the Florida state adjuster exam.
 
  • Individuals who meet the following criteria are exempt from taking the Florida exam:
 
  • They need to currently hold a license as a public adjuster in Florida
 
  • Earned an insurance degree. This degree must include at least 18 semester hours of college credit in property insurance. Also, casualty, health, and commercial insurance from an accredited college or university.
 
  • They need to currently, hold a General Lines (Property and Casualty) Agent license.
 
  • Get a Letter of Clearance verifying you held an all-lines adjuster license (company or independent). Have this for at least one year immediately prior to applying for a Florida license. Apply for a resident all-lines adjuster license within 90 days of becoming a Florida resident.
 
You can find more details on the Department of Financial Services website.
Nonresident Florida Adjusters
  • Be at least 18 years of age.
 
  • Not be a resident of Florida.
 
  • Be a U.S. citizen or legal alien who possesses a work authorization for the Immigration and Naturalization Services.
 
Insurance adjusters who hold a license in their home state may apply for a reciprocal license. This is as long as their home state has a reciprocal licensing agreement with Florida. 
 
  • To obtain the Florida 70-20 DHS License, you must complete one of the following:
 
  • Take a state-approved adjuster designation course. Also, students who complete a pre-licensing course are exempt from taking the Florida state adjuster exam.
 
Step 2 – Apply for the Appropriate Florida License
Once you have satisfied the requirements listed above, you’ll need to apply for your license. You will need to submit the appropriate paperwork and pay your fees.
 
 
Step 3 – Maintain Your License Florida. This requires 24 hours of continuing education (CE) every two years.
The 24 hours must include the 5-Hour Law and Ethics update. The remaining 19 hours are electives. The reporting period for completing Florida CE is every 2 years by the end of licensee’s birth month. Becoming a licensed Florida insurance adjuster is vital for those interested in working catastrophic claims. Especially in this time of volatile weather activity.
If you have any questions about becoming a licensed insurance adjuster, contact us today!  We are here to help!